Author Topic: Programming the Curtis controllers:  (Read 44599 times)

Offline Ivan

  • Administrator
  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 865
  • Country: us
    • Ivan's Garage
Re: Programming the Curtis controllers:
« Reply #60 on: March 19, 2017, 03:30:13 AM »
 :mE>:

ALL computer ports are 5Volts  NOT 9volt

Ivan
:co<:  If you bought just one or two extra can goods a week and donated to a food bank   Nobody would go hungry.

Offline konstantin8818

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Programming the Curtis controllers:
« Reply #61 on: March 19, 2017, 03:46:02 AM »
ALL computer ports are 5Volts  NOT 9volt
So I was misinformed. That's strange. I used to trust that guy. He is pro.

Offline mizlplix

  • Administrator
  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1443
  • Country: us
  • "The more you look, the more you find."
    • The old  build thread....
Re: Programming the Curtis controllers:
« Reply #62 on: March 19, 2017, 05:02:25 AM »
most computer PSU's are 12VDC (yellow wires) or 5VDC .

That 5VDC is what lets most single lithium cells recharge. (3.5VDC).

The 12VDC is what runs the accessories, fans, hard disc's, DVD burners.....

That TTL converter was just an experiment because several persons insisted it was needed.
It is not.

miz
1930 Ford Speedster, AC50, full manual powerglide, 6.14gears, 38-130AH CALBs.

Offline konstantin8818

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Programming the Curtis controllers:
« Reply #63 on: March 21, 2017, 08:52:08 AM »
mizlplix SUCCESS!   Tanks alot man, you saved me a lot of money! :mE>: :uy<:
Bought simple RS232 socket at radio market for 0,5 dollars and it works! :EL^:
Thanks again!

Offline jofloag

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Programming the Curtis controllers:
« Reply #64 on: March 27, 2017, 04:25:18 PM »
Hello everyone,

Is there any information on the AC50's motor parameters? I've been seraching them up but, so far, I've been unsuccesful. I need the stator and rotor resistances, as well as their inductances, or at least, a fair estimate of their values. Does anyone have measured paramaterers this already? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Jorge

Offline Ivan

  • Administrator
  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 865
  • Country: us
    • Ivan's Garage
Re: Programming the Curtis controllers:
« Reply #65 on: March 27, 2017, 05:54:48 PM »
Hello everyone,

Is there any information on the AC50's motor parameters? I've been seraching them up but, so far, I've been unsuccesful. I need the stator and rotor resistances, as well as their inductances, or at least, a fair estimate of their values. Does anyone have measured paramaterers this already? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Jorge

There is no rotor resistances  :Ah#: there is no winding in a ac motor, rotor.
The resistances in the stator winding is only 2-3 ohms, the lower the voltage
the lower the resistances. For instance, what is the resistance of 60 foot piece
of 18 gauge copper wire, that is roughly the length of one coil set, one phase.

Make sense ??

Ivan     :kR>:

:co<:  If you bought just one or two extra can goods a week and donated to a food bank   Nobody would go hungry.

Offline pezhmanbayat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Programming the Curtis controllers:
« Reply #66 on: July 27, 2017, 12:06:53 PM »
Hi,

We are working with Curtis 1234 and 3 kw AC induction motor (KDS, A Kinetek Company model YDQ3-4-5681), with Curtis 1313 handheld programmer.
Question 1) We bought a kit and after I tested it we noticed that the motor doesnít work :O):. We are try to do the motor Characterization procedure. We Setup Throttle, Setup Nominal Battery Voltage and Setup main contactor driver pull-in and holding percentages. After that we turn on the Test enable and test throttle, the controller will have a Fault and the main contactor opens itself.
We determined A Characterization Error fault by reading the number at   Monitor/Controller/Motor Characterization Error: 8 , and in 1313 handheld programmer /DIAGNOSTICS MENU /Present Errors folder we see following errors:
1234E5221 # Encoder Fault
1234E5221 # Motor Characterization Fault
for the encoder, I strictly connected the cable from the motor to the one coming out of the controller, both as delivered, and if I turn the shaft by hand I can read effectively the RPM (both positive and negative).  In our motor the Encoder Steps is not specified in the motor specifications but we set Encoder Steps to 64 because gear teeth on the driveshaft in back of motor are 64.
Question 2) I can't figure out why the Mapped Throttle goes 0-100% but Throttle commend is always 0% and never change.
Question 3) what is motor type? I read the Curtis manual and their online documentation for it but there isnít any help.
Can anybody help us please?

Thanks,

Bayat

Offline Ivan

  • Administrator
  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 865
  • Country: us
    • Ivan's Garage
Re: Programming the Curtis controllers:
« Reply #67 on: July 27, 2017, 03:06:22 PM »
 :<pP:
I have been trying to get hold of Dean mizlplix  think he is AWOL
sounds like the curtis does not like the encoder?
Have you read through the other post for the encoders we use?

 :co<:

This is the link to the encoders.
http://usdigital.com/products/encoders/incremental/rotary/kit/E3

Motor Type
When HPEV buys Curtis Controllers they add their VCL with different motor types for just
there motors for instance type 50 would be for the ac-50 motor. make sense?

Did that controller come from HPEV?
:co<:  If you bought just one or two extra can goods a week and donated to a food bank   Nobody would go hungry.

Offline pezhmanbayat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Programming the Curtis controllers:
« Reply #68 on: July 27, 2017, 11:58:21 PM »
Hi Ivan,
Thank you for your quick response :Tt0:
No, my controller didn't come from HPEV, i purchased my kit from Malaysia. :dD(:
Yes, i readed the other post for the encoders. :kA>: when I turn the shaft by hand I can read effectively the RPM (both positive and negative), but i don't know what this error is. :EL^:
is it normal? when i use throttle, the Mapped Throttle goes 0-100% but Throttle commend is always 0% and never change.


Offline mizlplix

  • Administrator
  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1443
  • Country: us
  • "The more you look, the more you find."
    • The old  build thread....
Re: Programming the Curtis controllers:
« Reply #69 on: July 28, 2017, 03:03:32 AM »
You need to read your raw throttle output.  it may be 0-100 or it may be something like 3-96.

You then can set your mapped throttle to match your raw throttle reading.


Encoders: My most common encor=der fault is that the wiring is too long and that dampens out the signal too  much.
You can read the signal by hand turning the motor but still have the running signal strength too weak.  Please shorten the wiring as short as possible.
(Even if you are using the factory harness)

I will watch the forums now more closely to give you help.  Miz
1930 Ford Speedster, AC50, full manual powerglide, 6.14gears, 38-130AH CALBs.